Social networks are now the biggest medium for people to communicate. But it is useful as long as we use them in moderation. Social networks allow us to get to know our people, to be informed about the things that interest us the most, and to share our favorite moments with other people.
However, they are a double-edged sword if we do not handle them properly. If you think it’s time to delete your Facebook account or you want to get away from this social network for a while, you should first try one of the most interesting privacy options it offers us. I’m talking about restricting viewing of our account.
If we activate a personal profile on Facebook, any person who cannot find us on the Internet. And can contact us without first sending us a request so that we can study if you can give us the opportunity to follow us and see all the content we publish.
By setting a profile as private, only people who follow you will be able to access your profile. If we don’t want some people we have added as friends, the best we can do is to block them. Thus, he will no longer be our friend and will not be able to contact us in the future until we block him
In addition, they will also be able to see all the publications you make on this social network. However, we have the possibility to limit the scope of the publication to anyone, at least when we take some time on this platform, before closing the Facebook account permanently.
How to Make Your Profile Private on Facebook
Facebook puts at our disposal up to six different methods to limit the scope of the publication and account.
Public: If our profile is public, anyone with access to Facebook can access our profile and contact us.
Friends: Only friends on our account can access our profile.
Friends Except: It also gives the possibility to limit the number of friends who access our publications
Specific Friends: We want to select only a certain group of friends.
Only Me: By selecting this option, no one other than us will be able to access our publication.
Custom: With this option, we can create custom lists, and exclude people and/or friends.
You can make your Facebook Private easily by following the steps below.
- First login into your Facebook account. And then click the profile picture on the top right corner of the screen.
- Then click on the Settings & privacy option. And then click the Settings option.
- Now you can see the Privacy option on your right side. Tab on the Privacy option.
- After opening this option you can see the Your Activity Option in the middle of the screen.
Make Your Posts Private
Now we can change who is allowed to see your post, posts you’ve been tagged in, and which pages you follow from the Your Activity section.
Now click Who can see your future posts? to change the privacy settings for everything you post from now on.
And tap the Who can see the people, Pages, and lists you follow? option to select who’s allowed to see what you’re following.
Click Review all your posts and things you’re tagged in or Limit the audience for posts you’ve shared with friends of friends or Public? options will take you to a new page where you can edit the privacy settings on changes you’ve already uploaded.
Make Account Private
Facebook doesn’t make it easy to set up a personal profile in a single step. Unfortunately, if we want our profile to be completely private, we must visit a few sections to be able to limit all the people who can contact us.
Seeing the difficulty of Facebook limiting all the options available to us, many users choose to temporarily suspend their Facebook accounts. A choice that Facebook offers us and which allows us to return to normal within the next 30 days.
How easy it is to do on Instagram, TikTok, or Twitter. Facebook may already be learning, but it’s clear it wants to retain users as long as possible.
Advantages and Disadvantages of a Personal profile on Facebook
Reasons why you want to convert your public Facebook profile to private, only you know and you have reached that decision but you are not clear about what you mean, below we show you all the pros and cons involved.
I don’t separate the advantages from the disadvantages because each user may have their own reasons for making this change to their account, and for some, it may be an advantage, for others it is a disadvantage.
In fact, the person who sent the request will only know that you accepted them (notifying them with a notification) but not if you declined.
Does Not Limit the Reach of Your Publication
From the moment our profile is made private, all publications we make will only be available to all people you have as friends unless we establish otherwise at the time of publication. No one else will be able to access your post.
There is no method to bypass this limitation. If you find it on the internet, it’s 100% sure it’s a scam that only wants to get your account details or hold your credit card numbers, claiming you must be over 18 to use the service.
If there are people in the group of friends in our account that we don’t want to have access to once we make our account private, the best thing we can do is remove them as friends and block them.
One thing is useless without the other. You will stop being friends by automatically removing and blocking it from the platform, so he won’t be able to see your publication, but you will be able to see his.
No One will be able to Send You Messages
If we link Messenger and Facebook accounts using our Facebook account without using our phone number, once we set our profile to private, no one but our friends can send us a message through this messaging platform.
On the other hand, if you use Messenger with your phone number, blocking your profile on social networks won’t do you any good, since you can use your phone number with other messaging platforms like WhatsApp, and Telegram.
You can also see: